Mintlatte's Crafty Space

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Intricate Stag Bag….. October 19, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — mintlatte @ 1:18 pm

 

Is done.  Finished.  and my new favorite bag. 

The ladies at work tell me this looks like a designer bag, I am thrilled as it really represents some of my best work yet 🙂

What I really love is that in this picture, the bag is fully loaded, and by fully, I mean fully. 

  Lined and interfaced for structure……

The details:

Brown Sheep Naturespun sportweight, 1.5 skeins of Plumberry (the brown) and .5 skein of the same in an unidentified orange color. (unidentified as it was purchased with the wrong label on it) 

Size 6 needles (I used my Knit Picks Options 🙂

Final is approx. 11" wide and 14" inches tall (a bit different than the pattern, but a lovely size, I never really checked my gauge, as this bag in any size would make me happy)

The good:  Are you looking at this thing?? I LOVE it.  Lined with some beautiful fabric purchased from a local quilting shop for the sole purpose of lining this bag.  The handles are from Joann’s, and the closure is a magnetic strap.  The lining was interfaced with a medium weight interfacing, and the top part or the bag has been given some extra structure with the addition of some Timtex.  The lining was then hand sewed onto the bag.  The handles are sewn on with some heavy duty thread, with Icord over the top to maintain the knitted look.  I had enough fabric to make this bag full of pockets, but the final shape really lent itself to being solidly lined.  I have a lot of taller narrower bags, and the pockets in them are not so functional.  Since I have extra fabric, it will eventually become a series of removable accessories to go with this bag. 

The bad: there are a few mistakes in my chart following abilities, I am also thinking I really need to work some more on picking up stitches as there is a visible pick up line at one point in the bag.

The Ugly: This was my second attempt at this bag.  The first really didn’t go so well as I was using Red Heart Classic, which is not a good choice for stranded colorwork. 

 

One Response to “Intricate Stag Bag…..”

  1. sarah meier Says:

    So lovelely !!!! Please are you so adorable to send me the chart via email ? Course there is unfortunably by the interweave no more 😦 thanks forward myladysarah@hotmail.de


Leave a Reply

